Some-tin sew pretty

cypdt24thdec 003

At Craft Your Passion this week we want you to Alter It (you need to alter an item using any medium and crafty tools you have in your craft room).We have the fabulous The Robin’s Nest as our sponsor too. Head on over to check how to play and win.Don’t forget to take a look at the DT and GDT inspiration,they’ve done a wonderful job!

A while ago I bought some lovely Coffee and Cream Woodware buttons but as they came in cellophane bag they kept escaping into the bottom of my craft tote making it difficult to find them.So this seemed the ideal opportunity to make something specia lto keep them in – after all they deserve it!I took a Christmas tin that one of my kids had a small gift of sweets in a few years ago (yes I’m a hoarder!) :

cypdt24thdec 001

I used some gorgeous papers and beautiful stamps that came free with the January issue of Cardmaking and Papercraft Magazine (as a subscriber I get my issue early). First I stamped a piece of spotty paper with the measuring tape stamp and wrapped it around the tin,leaving a gap at the top as the lid does fit very tightly!Next I covered the side and top of the lid with some light coloured kraft card edged with Coffee Archival Ink.Then I die cut a lacy circle from the flip side of the spotty paper,this rather pretty floral design,again edged with Archival ink.A length of this natural looking ric rac that I found at my local craft warehouse was adhered around the edge of the lid.As soon as I saw it I had to have it as it brought back fond memories from my childhood.I remember my Mum making summer dresses and edging them with this stuff 🙂 Unfortunately I never inherited her needlework skills and altho’ she tried I was given up on as a hopeless case..lol.After stamping the thread card I wound some embroidery floss around it.I found this fab pink topped pin in my stash and added a needle that drives me crazy as the eye is far too small to thread anything through it!I filed the ends down so they are blunt tho’ 😉 I’m clumsy enough!The flowers were cut up from some daisy chain lace that has been lurking for far too long and topped with some pearls to match the pin.The two plastic buttons are the Woodware ones and the wooden heart one was another escapee taking refuge in the bottom of my tote so I decided to throw that in for good measure too.All have been threaded with the same floss as before.Here are some more pics :

cypdt24thdec 004

cypdt24thdec 005

Being put to good use 😀 Luckily the tin was pale blue so it doesn’t look too bad with the lid off 😉 As I don’t have a craft room I wanted to create something that wouldn’t look out of place sat on the dresser in my bedroom.I hope I’ve achieved that.

Supplies :

Papers & Stamps : Cardmaking and Papercraft magazine freebie
Card : Light coloured kraft from my stash
Medium : Coffee Archival Ink
Adhesives : Ultra sticky DST for sticking papers and card to tin,Cosmic Shimmer Acrylic Glue for adhering embellishment
Tools : X-Cut guillotine,Nellie Snellen Multi Frame Dies Flower Circles,Big Shot,Decoupage scissors,Basic Grey Precision File Set
To embellish : Woodware Coffee and Cream Buttons,We R Memory Keepers Brown Floss,Wooden Heart button,Flat backed Pearls,Daisy chain lace,Ric rac all from stash,Needle and Pin from my sewing drawer

Some challenges this is for :

BasicGrey : Anything goes (hope the file set counts!?!I won’t be offended if it I’m told doesn’t)
Hiding in my Craft Room : Anything but Christmas
Crafts 4 Eternity Recipe Challenge : Anything Goes
Fairy Tale : Pimp Up Something
My Heart Pieces Digital Stamps Challenge: Anything goes
Creative Moments : Anything but a card 
Paper Shelter Challenge: Anything goes
Elke Kaart Een Feestje  : Anything Goes
Through The Craft Room Door : Always Anything Goes!
Tuesday Alchemy :  Anything But A Card
Artistic Inspirations : Always Anything Goes
Great Impressions : Anything Goes
Pile It On : Embellishments
Anything But A Card Challenge : Anything Goes/Your Favourite Project
Catch The Bug : Use a Border (measuring tape border stamp)
 
Thanks for looking.
Wishing everyone peace and joy for the Holiday Season

and a prosperous New Year
Lisa x

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:47:56

    This is awesome Lisa. Thank you for sharing it with us at Crafts 4 Eternity.

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

    Hugs
    Cathy DT
    xxxxxx

    Reply

  2. Darlene Lyons
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 19:04:12

    Sew creative! Lovely way to store your things! Thanks for sharing it with us at TTCRD!

    Reply

  3. Corrinne
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 02:47:14

    Oh, sew lovely (You know, I must always be punny – ha!) Thank you for sharing this with us at Tuesday Alchemy – Our new challenge starts Christmas 🙂

    I also invite you to this ANYTHING GOES challenge here: http://pinandtack.blogspot.com/2012/12/spark-your-creativity-now-challenge-4.html – I know you’d fit right in!

    Lots of joy,
    Corrinne Q

    Reply

  4. Ellen R
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:58:36

    What a lovely creation!
    Thanks for joining us at EKEF!

    Reply

  5. Pauline
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 11:24:34

    This is a fabulous tin to store your buttons in Lisa, I love the thread card and button embellishments.
    I hope you are having a fab Christmas.
    Pauline
    x

    Reply

  6. Bianca
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 13:13:31

    That´s such a lovely box! Perfect for your buttons! Thank you for joining us at Fairy Tale Challenge! xx Bianca

    Reply

  7. jennie
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 00:56:54

    Excellent altered tin!! Love this, so lovely 🙂 Thanks for joining us at Hiding in my Craft Room
    Cheers Jennie DTM
    Jenscrapstoo

    Reply

  8. Heather
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 14:36:27

    What a wonderful creation, a gorgeous design and such fabulous details.
    It is essential that at least one product of BG is used – as little as a button would be OK. The file IS a BG product!!

    hugs
    Heather xx
    Thanks so much for joining Basic Grey challenge.

    Reply

  9. Amy Ely
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 16:54:01

    Love the button box. Reminds me of my Grandma 🙂 Thanks for joining Bugaboo at Catch the Bug!!

    Reply

  10. Julie Temple
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 17:21:07

    Love them BOTH! Gives me a great idea for the tin I got at Chrismas!Thanks for playing along at Bugaboo’s Catch The Bug!

    Julie

    Reply

  11. Jenn Z
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 02:26:46

    Thanks so much for playing along with us this week for the Catch The Bug “Recipe Challenge” with Bugaboo Stamps! Just loved your boxes, and hope to see more of your work in future challenges!

    Bugaboo Stamps DT
    Jenn Zeeb

    Reply

  12. ~ginny
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 19:55:43

    Wowza! I love this button tin! The thread on the cardboard shape with the needle and pin is delightful! This is a GREAT project Lisa!
    ~ginny

    Reply

  13. Min
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 02:57:30

    What an adorable button box! I just LOVE IT!
    Thanks so much for playin’ along with us this week for the Catch The Bug Recipe Challenge with Bugaboo Stamps! We hope you join us again for our NEWEST challenge.
    Happy New Year – we look forward to seeing you in 2013!!
    Hugs & Happy Days! ~Min
    Kaymin Kreations

    Reply

  14. patty
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 13:10:35

    wonderful creation, thanks for enjoying us at fairytale, hugs, patty

    Reply

  15. Priyanka
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 16:11:03

    Very Simple and sweet.Thank you for taking part at My Heart Pieces Challenges.

    Reply

  16. Christy Skinner
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 01:56:19

    This is just SUCH a sweet little project. So pretty and I love the little spool 🙂 Thanks for joining us at Anything But a Card this challenge!!!!

    Reply

  17. Nela
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 07:28:51

    Totally adorable!
    Thanks for playing along with us at Fairytale Challenge
    xx Nela

    Reply

  18. mark
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 12:20:31

    Well that tin looks a hell of a lot better now you have done your thing to it 😉 Its always a great idea to up cycle and you have ended up with a beautiful button home.
    Thanks for joining us at Anything But A Card

    Reply

  19. Sonia **Sony**
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 18:37:32

    Hi Lisa
    AWESOME creation… love it
    -Sony
    sonia-studio60.blogspot.com

    Reply

  20. Deanne Clarke-Saunders
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 21:06:20

    This is gorgeous!!! Thanks for participating in our MY HEART PIECES challenge!!
    ~DEANNE~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

