Do count your chickens!

csdt2ndsept 001

**Please click on the pic for a clearer view.For some reason they always look a little blurry on the blog page 😦  **

The challenge at Crafty Sentiments this week is Anything Goes.Drop on by to join in the fun and be in with the chance of winning a super surprise prize.Don’t forget to take a look at some fabulous inspiration by the talented DT while you’re there.

I decided to revisit colouring on kraft card with pencils as I’ve not done it in a while and I wanted a more countrified feel.The delightful Chicken Run is by Crafty Sentiments Designs and I got my Polychromos out…I always start with a cream base before adding skin tones.For the chickens I applied a layer of orange first then the brown tones for shading.This is because I wanted to differentiate them from the bench as I only have three shades of brown in my collection.Afterwards I traced over the lines with a sharpened black pencil as they can become obliterated.A touch of white gel pen highlights their eyes.I think I chose the wrong type of kraft to do this on tho’.It matches the card base and seems to be coated rather than have the key of other card of this variety so I found myself having to increase the pressure and coverage of the pencils which possibly detracts from the shading.I think I made a mistake by getting carried away with the background.I feel I should have left some bare kraft showing.But then I’m probably a little out of practice…not that it matters when you’ve got an image this cute tho’  🙂 Overall I am quite pleased with the outcome.Hope you like it too…

Supplies :

Image : Chicken Run is by Crafty Sentiments Designs
Mediums : Tuxedo Black Memento Dew Drop Ink Pad,Faber Castell Polychromos Pencils,Sakura White Gelly Roll Pen,Sakura Pigma Micron 0.5mm Pen
Paper & Card : Papermania Sew Lovely 12  x  12 Paper Pack,Papermania Sew Lovely Die-Cut  Notelets,American Crafts 12 x 12 Textured Cardstock,Craft UK Limited 6 x 6 Kraft Card Blank,Colour Vision A4 Kraft Board (for colouring image on – it just happens to match the card blank perfectly)
Tools : X-Cut Guillotine,Martha Stewart Embroidered Floral Corner and Edger Punch (used separately),Nestabilities Labels 4,Quickutz Sign Die,Craft Concepts Woodgrain Embossing Folder,X-Cut Dielicious Nesting Dies Flowers,Joy!Crafts Leaves 2 Cutting Stencil,Big Shot
To Embellish : Papermania Sew Lovely Assorted Buttons,Papermania Sew Lovely Ribbon Set,Dovecraft Metallics Brads,Heart Topped Pins from stash
 

Some challenges I would like to enter : 

Artistic Inspirations : Anything Goes and/or Memories (This image reminds me when I was young my Aunt and Uncle kept chickens in their back garden )
Crafting from the Heart : Always Anything Goes
Craft It Up & Link It Up Linky Party by Craftin Desert Divas : Anything Goes
Crafty Bloggers Network : Anything Goes
Dream Valley Challenges : Flowers
My Craft Creations : Always Anything Goes
Ppinkydolls : Anything Goes
Come and Get It : Things with Wings
Fairytale Stampers : Everything Goes
Jellypark Friends Challenge :Pets/Animals
Pile It On :Punch It Out
Crafting At the Weekend : Anything Goes
Hiding in my Craft Room : Freestyle!
A Creative Romance : Touch of Kraft
Brown Sugar : Anything Goes
Creative Corner : Anything Goes
Sister Act Card Challenge : Anything Goes
C.R.A.F.T. : Animal/Pet
Cute Card Thursday : Anything Goes
Delightful Challenges : Layer It
Crafter’s Cafe : Punches/Dies
Hobbybook Designer Challenge : 2 or more DP
Inky Impressions : Anything Goes
Little Red Wagon : Girl Power
Simon Says Stamp : Anything Goes
 

Thanks for looking 

Lisa x

 

 

 

 
18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. barb
    Sep 02, 2014 @ 16:46:01

    What a charming card, lovely design, colors and image. Thanks for joining us at the Brown Sugar Challenge. Barb

    Reply

  2. Monica
    Sep 02, 2014 @ 17:11:00

    Thanks for entering our C.R.A.F.T. Challenge this week!
    Monica – DT

    Reply

  3. Sari
    Sep 02, 2014 @ 17:15:26

    So cute image and lovely layout. Love the buttons. Thank you for joining Crafting From the Heart, good luck.

    Reply

  4. Sue
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 01:31:44

    Gorgeous card..thanks for joining us at Sister Act Card Challenge..Sue DT x

    Reply

  5. jenn shurkus
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 03:12:44

    this reminds me of an old story book from my childhood 🙂 i love how you colored the image and put the card together 🙂 thank you for playing a long with simon says stamp wednesday challenge!

    Reply

  6. Gail
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 05:09:03

    Cute cute card! Love the image you used and those stick pins are fabulous! Hugs, Gail

    Reply

  7. Dreamtime
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 11:23:01

    Hi Lisa,
    I love your cute design. You are more brave than I am as I haven’t tried colouring on Kraft paper yet. I understand your frustration in regards to blurry images as I remember going through that myself. Just wondering which image software you are using? I use Photoshop which has a 30 day free trial if you’re interested in giving it a go.

    Lisa, could you please go to my blog? I have a surprise waiting there for you 🙂
    See you there.

    Hugs
    Lisa

    Reply

  8. Dreamtime
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 11:24:46

    I don’t know why it has given that website address. That was from years ago lol.
    Please go here:

    http://dreamtimedesigns.blogspot.com.au
    Thanks
    Lisa

    Reply

  9. Myrna Sweet
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 16:30:58

    Your card is lovely. I love all the details. Thank you for sharing with Fairytale Stampers – Myrna (DT)

    Reply

  10. aunty Sue
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 18:30:18

    great card and thanks for sharing at CRAFT this week love the image

    Reply

  11. racchel taylor
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 20:36:00

    lovely sweet card thanks for sharing with brown sugar this week Rachel dt

    Reply

  12. Mayra
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 17:42:44

    This is sooo cute and just adorable !!! I love the image !! Thank you so much for joining us at Craftin’ Desert Divas !!! Hope you have a wonderful weekend !!
    Hugs,
    Mayra
    Mayrasdesigns.blogspot.com

    Reply

  13. Mel :o)
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 20:24:30

    Fabulous card, such stunning colouring of that super cute image. Thank you for sharing it with us over at Jellypark Friends Challenge Blog for our Pets/animal challenge. Mel :o)

    Reply

  14. Cornelia (fun stamping)
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 23:52:51

    So cute – wonderful coloring! Thanks for playing with us at Dream Valley Challenges! I hope to see you again here next time! Hugs, Cornelia – DT

    Reply

  15. Katrin
    Sep 06, 2014 @ 13:36:07

    What a cute card! Love the image and colours you’ ve used.
    Thank you for joining us at Fairytale Stampers!

    Katrin

    Reply

  16. lawinchen
    Sep 06, 2014 @ 23:12:55

    A wonderful card. Thanks for joining us at Fairytale Stampers.
    Hugs
    Andrea

    Reply

  17. MA-MI
    Sep 07, 2014 @ 12:53:31

    Great project! Tanks for sharing it at Artistic Inspirations. Hugs, Maja DT

    Reply

  18. Lori Bowles(got2bcrafting)
    Sep 07, 2014 @ 22:06:26

    Such a beautiful and sweet card! I really love all the stitching!

    Thanks so much for joining us at the Craftin Desert Divas Linky Party. Please join us beginning Wed. Sept 17th for Tara’s new September stamp release Sneak Peeks!!
    ~ DT Lori

    Reply

Leave a Reply

