Just dropping you an (out)line

cypdt23rdsept 001

 

At Craft Your Passion this week the challenge is No Coloured In Images.We have the fabulous The Sugar Kissed Cottage as our sponsors too.Head on over to check how to play and win.Don’t forget to take a look at the DT inspiration,they’ve done a wonderful job.

For my card I’ve used this sweet Vintage Girl Wearing Cute Hat by The Sugar Kissed Cottage.Now,anyone who knows me or has stopped by my blog must know how much I LOVE colouring so this was a tough one for me!I even set the challenge – lol xD …And this where I had a major issue.My trusty old over-worked printer just couldn’t cope with printing out anymore digi stamps and died 😦 Not good when your DT work consists of working with digital images…and then the panic set in!!After much deliberation,running around in circles and a ton of confusion I finally decided which one to go for.Second hurdle…all the places I’d been looking online were now out of stock!Luckily DH had seen a stack of them in a local supermarket and on sale – always up for a bargain 😉 On his travels at work he dropped in and grabbed one of the remaining few 🙂  As he had only popped home to get changed for a meeting he left the installation to me.Eeeek!No worries tho’ it was easy.Phew!With that out of the way I set about printing my first image.I changed the colour in Word and as this was a test I printed it in Draft so as not to waste too much ink,yeah I’m frugal.I know it’s only an outline but I’m impressed and I got a usable piece 🙂 It even took the 210 gsm card I usually print onto without a fight.Bonus!So I’m happy 🙂 Any way enough of the printer review,back to the card.I got the idea for the layout from Cardmaking and Papercraft magazine and just had to try it,altering it to suit a little.I’ve teamed her with some beautiful My Mind’s Eye papers ( all scraps) and added some die cut flowers and swirls.I stamped the greeting in a Memento Ink that just happened to match the printer ink pretty well.A few gems to decorate and it’s all done!I think the uncoloured image looks quite effective and will use this technique again – especially when I need a card in a hurry!

Supplies :

Image :  Vintage Girl Wearing Cute Hat by The Sugar Kissed Cottage
Sentiment :  Kaisercraft Friends Mini Clear Stamp Set
Medium : Potter’s Clay Memento Dew Drop Ink Pad 
Papers & Card : DP My Minds Eye Indie Chic Citron 6 x 6 Pad,Bazzill Basics Cardstock,Core’dinations Roy G.Biv 12 x 12 Cardstock Pad
Tools : X-Cut Guillotine, Xcut Dielicious Nesting Dies Flowers,Swirl Die from Marianne Designs Circle Frame,Big Shot,Tim Holtz Paper Distresser
To Embellish : Crafts Too Acrylic Stones Wheel Cool Series

 

Some challenges this is for :

Cheerful Stamp Pad :  Hats
C is for Challenge :  Sparkle
Kaboodle Doodles : Use Orange
Digi Makeover Challenge : Anything Goes
My Craft Creations : Anything Goes
613 Avenue Create : Anything Goes 
Creative Inspirations Paint : Anything Goes 
One Stitch At A Time : Anything  Goes
PanPastel UK Challenge : Anything Goes
The Corrosive Challenges : Maiden, Mother, Crone
Delicious Doodles : Gems and Bling
Wags ‘n Whiskers : Sparkle
Paper Crafting Journey : Flowers
Crafter’s Cafe : Flowers
Crafting with Dragonflies : Use at least 5 scraps of DP
Penny’s Paper-Crafty : Two or more patterned papers
Bearly Mine Challenges ; Anything Goes
Die Cuttin’ Divas : Fall Colours
LEJ Designs : Lots of Layers
Party Time Tuesdays : Anything Goes
Through The Craft Room Door : Always Anything Goes

 

Thanks for looking

Lisa x

 
 

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hazel
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 14:32:03

    Thank you for sharing your lovely card for The Cheerful Stamp Pad 69 ‘I love your hat’ challenge, Hazel, Cheerful stamp pad DT. x

    Reply

  2. Melissa SunshineHoneyBee
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 15:11:07

    Like how the image pops w/o color. Like the flourish. Thank you for entering OSAAT Ch182 Anything Goes.
    Melissa
    “Sunshine HoneyBee”
    OSAAT DT

    Reply

  3. sandra
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 15:38:53

    Lovely card Lisa, that image is beautiful!! Love the distressed papers.
    Thanks for joining theTTCRD challenges.
    Hugs,Sandra

    Reply

  4. Chana Malkah
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 15:40:29

    Great approach to the challenge! Wonderful use of your background papers to create a beautiful “quilt” for you stamped image! Nice composition and wonderful execution! Thanks for slipping this under our door here at 613 Avenue Create!
    Hugz,
    Chana, Owner

    Reply

  5. Jane
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 17:54:17

    Very creative Lisa, it is not easy leaving the digi uncoloured 🙂 but you cracked it with this card 🙂 Good luck in this weeks OSAAT challenge and hope to see you back again next week 🙂 Hugs Jane OSAAT DT

    Reply

  6. Gerda
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 20:16:18

    What a adorable card! I love the background! Thanks for joining us at DCD this week!
    Gerda
    http://cardscreations.blogspot.com

    Reply

  7. Katie stringer
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 21:01:34

    Thanks for joining in this week at Pennys Paper Crafty Challenge
    Hugs katie x

    Reply

  8. Joan
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 21:39:37

    Thanks for joining us on the Kaboodle Doodles Challenge Blog! Cute image!

    Reply

  9. Hilde
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 02:34:59

    Gorgeous card, great way to use up those scraps and perfect for our challenge, just letting you know that I have buried at least 3 printers so far, am onto number 4 which seams to be outlasting the average….thanks for playing with us at Crafting with Dragonflies, blessings Hilde

    Reply

  10. Tara
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 04:28:27

    Hope you will stop by and link up at Craftin Desert Divas “Fall/Autumn” Linky Party.

    Tara
    Craftin Desert Diva’s

    Reply

  11. sylvia anderson
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 11:19:59

    Lovely creation.
    Thank you for joining us at LEJ Designs, good luck, we hope you will join in future challenges x

    Reply

  12. Ingrid
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 12:55:55

    Oh Lisa – commiserations on the extra challenges you faced in making this card – I’m having one of those days myself today. Well you got yourself a new printer from your challenges and I’ll soon have some hot water 🙂 Your card is lovely and worth all the extra effort you had to go to to get it made. That little lady is super and I love all your background papers. Good luck in our challenge this week. Ingrid xx (OSAAT Team)

    Reply

  13. Rhonda Miller
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 15:29:59

    What a great card. Thanks for playing at CCCB.

    Reply

  14. Susan Sieracki
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 17:21:38

    Beautiful card. That is a very difficult challenge to do an uncolored image, but you did a fabulous job and I love the red outline. Thank you so much for joining us this week at 613 Avenue Create!

    Reply

  15. Susan Hogan
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 03:12:37

    Love that image! What a fabulous card and your layering is inspired. Thanks for joining in the fun at Stamping with Dragonflies for our use your stash challenge – 5 pieces of DP!

    Reply

  16. sheila
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 09:02:12

    Lovely card, thanks for joining in the my craft creations challenge, good luck x

    Reply

  17. julie
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 13:30:02

    Cute card !
    Thanks for joining us at the Corrosive Challenge!!

    Reply

  18. Pauline
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 17:29:43

    This is a lovely card Lisa, I love your outline image and fabulous papers.
    I had to invest in a new printer recently and I have to say I’ve been very pleased with mine.
    Pauline
    x

    Reply

  19. cumbrianlass
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 18:05:34

    A gorgeous card, love all the designer papers layers and a super image
    Thanks for joining in our Challenge at lejdesigns Challenge
    Janet

    Reply

  20. Anita
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 18:47:30

    Love the image just as it is and the rest of the card compliments it too ….a great image to use love the bling and flowers. Many thanks for joining us this week at OSAAT Anita DT

    Reply

  21. Claire C
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 19:28:22

    Beautiful card, the papers are gorgeous and the outline image looks really effective. Thanks for joining us at PanPastel UK this week
    Claire xx

    Reply

  22. ~ginny
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 23:59:05

    I am a scrapaholoic when it comes to using my leftovers… and your layout is inspirational Lisa . I like how you got it all to line up and fill the square. I will lay odds I would never be able to make THAT work! LOL! Quite effective I dare say!
    ~ginny

    Reply

  23. carol gill
    Sep 28, 2013 @ 22:16:35

    love the vintage image and love all the layers,papers and flourish-thanks for joining us at Lej designs
    Carol DT x

    Reply

  24. Maggie S
    Sep 29, 2013 @ 03:34:03

    Just ilove the image, but your background design/layout is fantastic. Thanks for joining us at One Stitch at a Time. Good luck and hope to see you again soon. Maggie, DT

    Reply

  25. Pauline
    Sep 29, 2013 @ 16:18:42

    Hi Lisa,I just popped back to say thank you so much for joining us at Bearly Mine Designs this week.
    Pauline
    x
    P.S. I have candy on my blog if you would like to take a look http://craftingwithcotnob.blogspot.co.uk/

    Reply

  26. Anna
    Sep 29, 2013 @ 19:20:18

    What a fab vintage card! Love the layout you’ve made. I would like to thank you for entering my ‘C… is for challenge’ blog and I wish you good luck in the draw.
    Hugs,
    Anna xxx

    Reply

  27. Barb
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 01:11:50

    Well done getting your new printer up and running. I really like your layout. Thank-you for sharing with us at Crafting With Dragonflies!
    {Hugs} Barb, DT

    Reply

Leave a Reply

