Stop ‘foaling’ around!

cypdt14thjan 001

At Craft Your Passion this week the theme is Gone Country.We have the fabulous DRS Designs and Doodle Pantry as our sponsors too. Head on over to check how to play and win.Don’t forget to take a look at the DT and GDT inspiration,they’ve done a wonderful job!

For my card I’ve used the wonderful Silhouette Horse by DRS Designs and created the illusion of him galloping off into the sunset with Distress Inks.I chose to use a hazier,more tranquil effect rather than dramatic orange and purple shades.I started with a light dusting of Scattered Straw before adding the ‘Sun’ mask then built up the layers of colour.For the clouds I swirled a waterbrush over the areas I wanted to remove colour from and dabbed the ink away with a tissue.Next I added shadows back in by watercolour painting with Broken China and Scattered Straw.This is my first attempt and I’m quite pleased with the results 🙂 All edges have been inked with Vintage photo and then distressed.I punched a fence along the bottom panel then adhered a strip of jute ribbon onto it.It’s gotten a little scruffy due to me not being careful enough when storing it but I think it adds to the rustic charm 😉 The boots are cut from a sheet of paper from the same collection as is the sentiment.Once the sentiment was mounted I set some eyelets and threaded some thin hairy string I salvaged from a clothing tag.Lastly I added some of my favourite screw top brads that I try not to use…lol 🙂

Supplies :

Image : Silhouette Horse by DRS Designs
Medium : Distress Inks in Scattered Straw,Dried Marigold,Tumbled Glass,Broken China,Vintage Photo
Papers & Card : DP DCWV All About Boys 8 x 8 Pad,Papermania 12 x 12 Kraft Pack
Tools : X-Cut Guillotine,Martha Stewart Fence Edger Punch,Tim Holtz Paper Distresser,Crop-a-Dile,Decoupage Scissors
To Embellish : Creative Expressions Antique Copper Screw Top Brads,Small eyelets,Jute Ribbon and Hairy String from my stash

Some challenges this is for :

ATCs & Cards With Attitude : Add a tag or sentiment/Anything Goes
Fairy Tale : Animals & Pets
Fat Pages & Cards with Attitude :Tags or sentiments/Anything Goes
Stampin With The Dragon : Anything Goes
Paper Crafting Journey : Anything Goes
Shelly’s Images : Anything Goes
Divas by Design : Anything Goes 
Freshly Brewed : Anything Goes
Inky Impressions :Add a Sentiment
Paper Pretties Wednesday Challenge : Brads
Penny’s Paper-Crafty : Anything Goes
Through The Craft Room Door : Always Anything Goes!
Top Tip Tuesday : Fur Or Feathers
Di’s Digis Designs : Try something new (sky created with Distress Inks)
613 Avenue Create : Anything Goes 
One Stitch At A Time : Anything Goes
PanPastel UK Challenge : New Technique  (sky created with Distress Inks)
Scrappy Frogs : Try Something New (sky created with Distress Inks)
The Squirrel & the Fox : Anything Goes 

Thanks for looking

Lisa x

 
20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracey
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 10:32:03

    Wow, I’m very impressed. This is fantastic! I love all your fabulous details like those screw top brads. Thank you for sharing with us at The Squirrel and The Fox, I hope to see you there again soon.
    Tracey
    x

    Reply

  2. Karen
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 11:40:25

    Great card! Thanks for joining us at Inky Impressions.

    Karen

    Reply

  3. Michelle
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 12:46:08

    This card is fantastic. Love the background with the sun.
    xxx Michelle

    Reply

  4. Maggie S.
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 14:44:40

    Such an adorable card. Love the layout and cute image.

    Reply

  5. Laine
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 16:51:24

    I love this, wonderful design and detail. Thank you for joining us this week at PCJ Challenge.
    Laine
    X

    Reply

  6. Josephine
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 16:58:51

    Beautiful! Love how you’ve coloured the background.

    Thanks for joining us at One Stitch at a Time this week, and good luck!

    Reply

  7. vanessa b
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 04:10:40

    so beautiful! and funny! love it! 🙂 thanks for joining us at fresh brewed designs 🙂

    Reply

  8. Bianca
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 08:04:16

    So lovely! Thank you for joining us at Fairy Tale Challenge! xx Bianca

    Reply

  9. Susan Kennedy
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 10:25:57

    This is gorgeous!!! I love the paper and the distressing! All the elements are just perfect!! Fantastic card!! Thanks for playing along with us at One Stitch At A Time!! Good luck!! I hope to see you again for our next challenge too!!

    Susan, DT @ OSAAT

    Reply

  10. Bonnie Irvine
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 00:48:35

    This card is amazing. I love the background with the silhouette contrasting the soft colours.. Those clouds look real. The details are fabulous. Love the fence and burlap. I try not to use my brads like those, too. They stay in my hoard vault.

    Reply

  11. Marianne
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 06:31:17

    It’s a beauty and you have used great colours.
    Thanks so much for joining our “show us what you got” challenge at Shelly’s Images! Please come back and join us again real soon!!
    Greetings Marianne

    Reply

  12. Jill
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 12:05:03

    Gorgeous! I love the design, fence and boots. Thank you for joining us at OSAAT this week. Good luck. Hugs, Jill x

    Reply

  13. Darlene Pavlick
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 18:46:58

    LOVE this! So adorable with those little boots! Thanks so much for joining our “Anything Goes” challenge at Shelly’s Images! Please come back and join us again real soon!!
    Darlene
    Shelly’s Images DT
    DAR’S CRAFTY CREATIONS
    P.S. I have blog candy on my blog if you’re interested!

    Reply

  14. ~ginny
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 23:45:56

    Hey Lisa! What a nice card! I enjoyed reading how you achieved the background with the distress inks… I have got to try that! I especially like the layers of embellishments from the fence to the jute, boots and tag sentiment. Well done toots!
    ~ginny
    RubberMAD (http://ggetty.blogspot.com/)

    Reply

  15. Samantha :0)
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 22:31:50

    This is Fabulous I really love the image and also the way you did the background, Thanks for Playing along with us this time at Top Tip Tuesday Challenge, hugs Samantha :0)

    Reply

  16. Claire C
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 21:03:37

    wow what a beautiful card, I really love the scene that you’ve created, its stunning! Thanks so much for joining us at PanPastel UK this week
    Claire xx

    Reply

  17. Lindsay Elise Jolly
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 21:11:12

    Really beautiful, your sky looks amazing. Thank you for joining in with the PanPastel challenge blog
    Lindsay xx

    Reply

  18. fatmonica
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 15:25:31

    It’s beautiful.I love the background colours.Thanks for joining us at ATCs with Attitude.

    Reply

  19. Kim Ryden
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 21:35:00

    Love your card! So much detail and SO CUTE! It’s been so much fun being a part of the CYP GDT this month! Thanks for having me!

    Reply

  20. Deneen Treble
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 22:59:22

    A great card, I love the silhouette, and the sponged background, the fibres and boots are a great touch. Thanks for joining the Fur or Feathers Challenge at Top Tip Tuesday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

