Spring greens…

… and other colours.

I love Spring!It’s a great reminder that Summer’s on it’s way.Yay!

The papers and images are all from Funky Hand.The tree is a digi image from the Dreams Come True CD-Rom.The blossoms on the tree are actually a flower image that I cut away from the stems.I did glitter the centres but it doesn’t show in the pic and did my usual and forgot to take a close up (duh).They have both been coloured with my new ‘toys’ – a set of Gioconda Pastel Pencils.Having used most colouring mediums on images over the years I just had an overwhelming desire to try something new!And guess what I love ’em.This is actually the third time I’ve used them since they arrived on Monday but I can’t show the other two yet.I applied quite vibrant shades and gently blended them with some cheapy cotton buds – the kind you wouldn’t want near any part of your body.I didn’t smudge them too much on the tree trunk as I wanted to keep some of the texture.I also grounded the tree by using the cotton bud I’d used on the leaves and lightly smudged in the sky.I like the way the fixative I sprayed them with enhanced the colours further.The swirly floral paper is from the CD and the piece with the larger flowers is a freebie.I’ve used some of my fave embellishments too.A lovely strip of lilac raffia lace layered with some knotted grossgrain ribbon and buttons threaded with some ribbon cut from those really annoying pieces they sew in tops to keep them on the hanger.Still I suppose if they didn’t I wouldn’t be able to save them for my crafty projects.Mind you can you believe I bought a top this colour? – I can!

Supplies :
Images : Dreams Come True CD-Rom by Funky Hand
Mediums : Koh-I-Noor Gioconda Soft Pastel Pencils,fixed with Winsor & Newton Artists’ Fixative,Crystal Glamour Dust
Papers : Dreams Come True CD-Rom and Funky Hand  freebie,Yellow paper from Dovecraft 12 x12 Designer Paper Pack
Tools : X-Cut guillotine,Siesta Small Corner Rounder Punch,Decoupage scissors
Embellishments : Raffia lace,grossgrain ribbon,recycled ribbon from stash,Savannah Bag-o-Buttons by Autumn Leaves

Here are some challenges this card is for :

Get Funky! : Zing into Spring
CD Sunday : A song in my heart – Spring Fever by Elvis Presley
Crafty Pad : Spring is in the Air
Creative Cowgirls : Spring Time and Rainy Days
I Did It Creations : Sing a song – Spring Fever Elvis Presley
2 Sisters : Spring
Catch the Bug : 4 or more layers
If the Shoe Fits…Scrap It! : Spring
Aud Sentiments : Anything Goes
Papercrafting Journey : Use a freebie
Rainbow Lady’s : Springtime

TFL

Lisa x
26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anice McNamee
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 16:30:17

    This card is just fab Lisa! I love the way you have coloured the tree and added the flowers. Thank you for joining in with this months Get Funky! Challenge.
    Anice xx

    Reply

  2. Tess
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 16:34:24

    What a bright and cheerful card Lisa. Gorgeous colours. Thanks for sharing with us at CD Sunday. x

    Reply

  3. lou
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 17:14:06

    Lisa this is awesome hun. I love the way you combined the digi’s to make a blooming beautiful tree!! thank you for getting funky with us this month hugs Lou xxx

    Reply

  4. Carol
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 17:42:32

    A lovely card Lisa. Such a breath of Spring. I have a friend who is mad about pencils but I won’t tell you have some that she hasn’t. Thank you for joining us at CD Sunday.
    Hugs
    Carol
    xx

    Reply

  5. Elizabeth
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 17:55:56

    fab spring card, love the buttons! Thanks for sharing at Rainbow Lady’s challenge and good luck. Elizabeth x

    Reply

  6. Starcyl
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 20:09:50

    Great card Lisa and such vibrant colours, really pretty.
    Thanks for joining us at CD Sunday and I’ll do my best to ignore the fact that I don’t have any of these pencils.
    Jenny x
    CD Sunday DT

    Reply

  7. Jules
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 20:17:20

    Hi Lisa

    What a great Spring creation. I love the way you have added the flowers to the tree .. .. it gives it a completely different look.

    Great embellishments too.

    Thank you for playing along with Get Funky! this month. I hope you join in the new challenge that will start tomorrow.

    Love Jules xx

    Reply

  8. faye
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 20:52:12

    Wow, what a gorgeous card, the tree looks so good with these papers. Thanks for playing at Get Funky. x

    Reply

  9. Christine
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 21:02:28

    Beautiful card Lisa, love the tree and your flowers. Super backing papers too. Thanks for joining us both at CD Sunday and Rainbow Lady’s Challenge this week.
    Christine xx

    Reply

  10. Dawn Lancaster
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 21:42:41

    This is lovely Lisa! I love how you’ve added the blossoms to the tree! Shame the glitter nevers shows very well isn’t it!
    Thanks for playing along at The Crafty Pad this week!
    Hugs
    Dawn xxx

    Reply

  11. Jackie
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 00:17:08

    A lovely use of Anice’s paper, Lisa. Thanks for playing with this months Get Funky challenge 🙂

    Reply

  12. Julie T
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 03:11:14

    What a darling card. I love that lilac lace. Thanks for joining us in our birthday celebration at Aud Sentiments. Don’t forget to hop along to each of the DT blogs for your chance to win some great prizes
    Hugs,
    Julie

    Reply

  13. Faye
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 16:34:14

    Beautiful job of matching the colors, Lisa. This is gorgeous.

    Reply

  14. Tanisha
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 16:37:43

    Very cute spring creation, love your blue ribbon behind the image. Thanks for joining us this week at The Shoe!
    -Tanisha

    Reply

  15. Audrey
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 21:25:35

    What a beautiful project. Thanks for joining us at Aud Sentiments and celebrating our 1st Birthday with us.

    Reply

  16. Poppet
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 22:37:27

    Great card Lisa, the colours are gorgeous and I love the way the blooms on the tree stand out.

    Thank you for sharing your wonderful card with us at the Creative Cowgirls Challenge. 🙂 xx

    Reply

  17. Sarabeth Burke
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 01:30:46

    lovely card-thanks for playing along with us at PCJ 🙂

    sarabeth

    Reply

  18. Ali
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 11:45:40

    Hi! Your card is just perfect, I especially love the embellishments you’ve used, the lace, ribbon and buttons are lovely. Thanks so much for sharing with us at THE CRAFTY PAD this week. Hugs, Ali x

    Reply

  19. Gemma
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 18:05:08

    gorgeous creation! Thanks for singing along with us at I Did it Creations this week! Gemma 🙂

    Reply

  20. georgia
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 19:34:13

    Such a cute image and I love the lace! Thanks for playing at IDIC this week!
    Hugs,
    Georgia

    Reply

  21. Jackie Rakoski
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 21:23:11

    What a fun card! Thank you so much for joining us at the Catch the Bug Challenge Blog, I hope to see you play again!

    Reply

  22. padster
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 21:34:59

    Fantastic! – thank you fir singing along with our challenge at IDIC this week
    Hugs
    Debbie xx

    Reply

  23. kirsty Vittetoe
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 07:50:25

    That is super sweet!

    Reply

  24. Jenny
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 19:54:17

    What a super duper zingy springy project! Thank you for joining us with our Get Funky! challenge!

    Reply

  25. Jenny Pearson
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 20:29:26

    Lovely Spring card, the colouring looks super. Thank you for joining us at Rainbow Lady’s this week.
    Jen x

    Reply

  26. Cindy
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 17:49:49

    I love your tree. The flowers just pop! Looking at it makes me think of spring. Good job and thanks for joining us at PCJ this week.

    ~ Hugs Cindy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

