A real hoot!

We’d love to see your Things with Wings at AiFactory Challenges this week..You don’t need a AIFactory image to join in but there are some freebies if you’d like one of their images.You have until Wednesday 23rd March 11:59 EST to upload your project.Stop by the challenge site to check out full details.Don’t forget to take a look at the wonderful DT creations while you’re there!

I’ve used 2 inch Cute Owls Circle Tags – Cupcake Toppers – Favor Bag Tags.As soon as I saw this sheet of adorable little owls the idea to make this card sprung into my head. I shrunk the panel down to fit it onto my card whole.I then printed a second sheet in the same size and punched the cheeky little chappie using a 1″ circle punch.I wanted to make him stand out and as I have issues with printer ink running when using Glossy Accents I decided to clear emboss him instead.It was a bit fiddly but to stop him being blown away I gently held him in place with a pokey tool.I used 3 layers of powder to get a nice,smooth,even coating.Once cooled I mounted him onto some foam tape before putting him in place.I also added emphasis by doodling a frame around him.

Here’s a closer view.I tilted the lamp to catch the shine.

I wanted to create the card base with the wording printed directly on it.I’m pretty useless at creating my own templates and trying to position things correctly so I used My Verse Editor Plus from Crafty Ideas by Kaz.Although it seems to have been superceded by the Ultimate Insert Designer.Both of these have been made for the purpose of inserts but they make great templates for card bases too – why didn’t I think of it before! I just doodled a frame onto to it too.I layered up the image onto some cardstock adding a scalloped border for interest.I finished it off with a raffia bow.Perfect to give a rustic edge.

Supplies :
Image : 2 inch Cute Owls Circle Tags – Cupcake Toppers – Favor Bag Tags
Sentiment  : Computer  generated
Mediums : Fine end of a Black Whispers Strokes Dual Tip Marker,Versamark Watermark Stamp Pad,Debbie Moore Clear Gloss Embossing Powder
Card : Kraft card, Papermania Textured Capsule A4 Colossal Pack
Tools : My Craft Editor Plus,X-Cut guillotine,Fiskars Scalloped Sentiment Border Punch,Woodware 1″circle punch (green)
Embellishment : Natural raffia from my stash

Here are some challenges for this card :

Catch the Bug : Scallops
One Stop Craft : CAS
Aly’s Sunday Challenge : Anything Goes
Cupcake Crafts : Up in the Air (optional green)
Shabby Tea Room : Birthday/Celebration
Paper Sundaes : Keep It Simple 
Scrap Creations : Anything Goes
Top Tip Tuesday : Happy Birthday 
Wild Orchid Crafts : Dieing to punch it out
Simon Says : Happy Birthday
Kaboodle Doodles : Happy Birthday

TFL

Lisa x
18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sari
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 08:27:27

    This is such an adorable card with the owls! Thanks forj oining us at The Cupcake Craft Challenge this week! Good Luck! Hugs/Sari

    Reply

  2. JanR
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 14:21:28

    I racked my brain trying to come up with a way to use the whole sheet and failed miserably. You totally rocked it though! Such a great idea!

    Reply

  3. Debbie Marcinkiewicz
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 15:00:09

    Super cute!! Thanks for joining us this week in the Tea Room for our birthday bash 🙂

    Reply

  4. Francesca
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 17:16:31

    Beautiful card

    Thanks for joining us at OSCC this week and Good luck!

    Hugs
    Francesca

    Reply

  5. Else Irene Meling
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 19:40:28

    Cute 🙂 Thanks for joining us at WOC ♥

    Reply

  6. Dawn
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 21:45:56

    so cute, love your shiny little owl!! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Catherine
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 09:42:55

    Thank you for joining us at Cupcake Craft this week with such a cute card ! love the owls ! Too cute ! Good luck !

    Reply

  8. Petra
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 09:45:57

    Love the rustic feel you gave to the card and that you used the entire sheet of owls!

    Reply

  9. Tammy Miller
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 12:21:04

    What a wonderful card I love everything about it! Thanks for joining our Challenge this week over at Catch the Bug! Good luck hope to see you again very soon!

    Reply

  10. Anne Temple
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 17:32:59

    This is adorable and such a great idea! Love whay you did with the sheet of owls!

    Reply

  11. danielle
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 20:56:16

    So cute and fun! Love the owls, Thanks for joining us at The Shabby Tea Room!

    Reply

  12. Mary C
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 20:04:06

    OMG this card is wonderful. I love all the different colors on your owls. Thanks for playing with us this week at Going Grey with Scrap-Creations and Good Luck!

    Reply

  13. Lesley
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 23:23:23

    Great card! Thanks for playing along with us at Catch the Bug!

    Reply

  14. Dawny P
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 13:07:58

    What a fabulosu card chick. I love the colours and the owls – I LOVE owls 🙂 Thank you for joining us over at the Simon Says Stamp challenge, hugs, Dawny xxx

    Reply

  15. Lisa M/Lisabee
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 16:14:09

    oh how adoreable! Lovin’ those owls! Thanks for joining us in our Keep it Simple challenge at Paper Sundaes!

    Reply

  16. Crystal D
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 21:24:51

    So adorable, love the owls and the raffia bow! Thanks for playing with us at Paper Sundaes 🙂

    Reply

  17. Ika
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 11:00:50

    very very cute Lisa!! love how you use all of the images! hugs

    Reply

  18. Made By Mandy
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 23:19:03

    What a lovely card. You are so brave doodling so much, I would have completely ruined it if I’d have done that.

    Love Mandy xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

