Flower Power

At Pear Tree Designs this week we’d love to see your COLOURFUL card/projects.As always we have a fabulous  sponsor,Cardmadfairy’s Creations who’s very generously offering the prize of  4 x Christmas Digital Images for one lucky person!!

So don’t wait any longer.Pay the challenge site a visit for full rules on how to play and to see some inspiration from the wonderful DT creations.

We all need a little colour in our lives to escape this dreary, grey November weather.Well,I suppose it depends what part of the world you’re in,but it’s definitely dark and dismal where I live.The only good thing about the darker evenings is being able to crank up the heating and cosy down in front of the fire.OK so it’s not a real one but it has some fake coal and a realistic flame – near enough for me !.My parents had a real open fire and it was great at Christmas/Family gatherings or even if we paid them a visit during the cold Winter.So warm and inviting.That is if you could feel any heat through the dogs who lay in front of it absorbing every last centigrade into their thick,shaggy coats!!Why did they need to do that?!

Anyway enough of tripping down memory lane.Back to the card.

As soon as I saw the new Button Floral and Buttons stamp plates  by Sam Poole I had to have them!Now,I love ALL my crafty goodies dearly but buttons hold a very special place in my heart.Don’t know what it is about them.One thing I do know is I have hundreds of them – literally!I’m always torn between using them or keeping them to myself,so by using these beautiful stamps I’ll be able to share my passion of buttons.Or so the theory goes!

I have to admit I wasn’t sure if my card was colourful enough as I’m a bit of a colour coordination freak but I’m pleased how it turned out.

But shock horror NO Promarkers!!

** Here’s my Top Tip : Give shape to hand cut,punched or die cut flowers by placing them face up on a foam mat then emboss the centres using circular motions with a large ball tool(6mm).Then turn over and repeat the embossing on the petals.If neccessary turn over and  go over the centres again.I keep a bar of soap (unused!) to hand,rub some on my finger then run my ball tool over it to help it glide across the paper.**

Supplies :

Flowers and sentiment : Buttons Floral stamp plate by Sam Poole from Creative Expressions
Mediums : Memento Dew Drop inks in Lady Bug and Rose Bud
Card & Paper : DP K & Co,coloured card  Papermania A4 Capsule Textured Colossal pack
Tools : X-Cut guillotine,Siesta Large Corner Rounder Punch,Martha Stewart Zig Zag Edger Punch,Nellie’s Multi Frame Dies Ovals 2,Big Shot,Decoupage scissors,Large (6mm) Ball Tool,Foam mat,bar of soap (helps the Ball Tool run smoothly over paper/card when hand embossing)
Embellishments : Bag-O-Buttons by Autumn Leaves in Whirligig,Ribbon from a £1 pack from The Works
 
Some challenges :
Rainbow Lady’s Challenge : Edge it
Paper Romance : Some of your favourite things (buttons,stamping,flowers,the Zig Zag punch,ribbon)
Pals PaperArts: Ribbon or fabric
Crafty Purple Frogs : Let Your Creativity Blossom
CCEE Stampers : Use Buttons
Top Tip Tuesday : Buttons Galore!!
Gingerloft Chhallenges : Great Outdoors
Hodge Podge Shop : Anything Goes
Stampin’ Royalty : Patterned Paper
Simple Doodles : Cute as a button

TFL

Lisa x

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rainbow Lady
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 13:58:04

    This is gorgeous Lisa – welcome to my challenges too. Beautiful flowers and lovely warming colours. Thanks for edging with me this week Love Cynthia x come back on Thursday for more x

    Reply

  2. Jayne Hayward
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 21:49:15

    Gorgeous floral card. Love the flowers, colour and sentiment used.

    Thanks for joining in with us over on TCPF

    Jayne xx

    Reply

  3. Carol
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 22:31:36

    Beautiful card – love those flowers!

    Thanks for joining in with us this week at Top Tip Tuesday for our ‘Buttons’ challenge 🙂

    Carol x

    Reply

  4. Cards by Gina
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 02:36:37

    Beautiful use of colors and fabric! Thanks so much for playing at PPA with us this week!

    Reply

  5. Marlene Peters
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 05:36:42

    Those flowers are so WOW! Your card definitely has plenty colour. Beautiful. Thanks for playing with Stampin’ Royalty!

    Reply

  6. shellshearer
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 09:56:47

    Great card hun just love those flowers they are gorgeous & the colour is fab!
    Thank you for sharing with us at Gingerloft this week, good luck!
    Hugs Shell xx

    Reply

  7. sarah
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 13:52:14

    Lovely make and i really like your layout and punch work on the bottom

    Thanks for playing along at CPF

    Sarah x

    Reply

  8. Sandra Farrell
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 01:27:37

    Those flowers are beautiful Great job showcasing patterned paper. Thanks for playing with us at Stampin’ Royalty this week.

    Reply

  9. lynn Beaumont
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 09:19:08

    Lovely card and the pink tones are so pretty 🙂
    Thanks for joining us at Gingerloft Challenges
    huggs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

  10. The Navy Wife
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 02:27:34

    WOW! I love the sentiment and the whole card is beautiful! Great job and thanks for playing along with at Gingerloft Challenges.

    Reply

  11. Jessica L.
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 17:35:21

    Lovely card! I love the matching paper and flowers! Thanks for sharing your talent with us at The Hodge Podge Shop! I hope you’ll join us again soon! BTW, I have candy on my blog if you’re interested.

    Reply

  12. Tip Top
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 20:11:35

    Love the flowers! Thanks for entering the Simple Doodles Challenge – hope you can join us again next time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

