A little Gem

This stamp was a freebie in the April issue of Craftstamper magazine.Horace was designed by Pink Gem Designs and isn’t he adorable?

I’ve coloured the image with Promarkers.On the original stamp the head of the flower is solid so would be black.I decided to thread a wired flower in it’s place and decorated the edges of the petals with Diamond Stickles.I used a double embossing technique to create the frame within the embossed backgound.Here I’ve used Nestabilities Labels 3 and Swiss Dots Cuttlebug folder.I’ve not done this in a while so I really had to think about it! The corners have been punched with a Martha Stewart punch from a recent TSV on QVC.This piece has been mounted using foam tape.A Deep Edger from the same set has been used on the bottom of the lilac layer of card.The tops corners have been punched with a Small Rounder.The card I’ve used is Papermania Textured.A length of organza ribbon has been tied around the top to finish.

This card was created with the inspiration of these challenges :

Allsorts : ‘No DP’s’

I Love Promarkers : ‘Animals’

Pollycraft : ‘Anything Goes’

Quixotic Challenges : ‘The joy’s of Spring’

Your Next Stamp : ‘Purple’

TFL

Lisa x

Let sleeping owls lie!

This is a bit different to the style of card I normally make but I thought I’d make this sleepy head somewhere to roost.

I created a sky for the background using the D’vine Swirls Cuttlebug embossing folder then lightly sanded to give the impression of wispy clouds.I used the Distressed Stripes embossing folder on brown card to make the tree trunk which I hand cut then sanded and applied Tea Dye Distress Ink to.I stamped the branch from the Dawn Bibby Designs Twit Twoo set onto an extra piece and trimmed round.The owl, from the same set, was stamped onto white card.I coloured his face and feet with Promarkers.The rest has been paper pieced with some K & Co papers.I chose the brown and blue one to fit in with the colour scheme (plus it’s one of my faves).The thinking behind the script one on his tummy is that owls are supposed to be wise – right?I punched the strip at the bottom with a Martha Stewart Zig Zag edge punch to emulate grass.The words,from the same set again,have been stamped onto a piece of  blue card with Lip Pattern punched corners.I used the end of a Film Strip punch to make the holes either end so that I could thread a length of raffia through before tying in a bow.The whole panel was then adhered to the matting piece.All coloured card is Papermania Textured.

I wasn’t sure of this card at first.It looked so much better in my head – lol!But I think it’s growing on me.

The challenge inspiration behind this card is as follows :

Stampavie and more : ‘Green’ – use some green on your project.

Creative Inspirations : ‘Green,Brown and Blue’

Die Cuts  ‘R’  Us :’Stamped image and to include at least one bird on your project’

Crafty Creations : ‘Paper piecing’

The Pink Elephant Challenge : ‘Nature’

TFL

Lisa x