Paper piecing – with a difference!

The challenge at C.R.A.F.T.is paper piecing.

I’d like to think this is an innovative idea but I’m sure there are hundreds of others who have thought of this before me.The great thing about solid stamps is the different techniques you can use.Inking them or using marker pens in a variety of colours before putting them to paper,chalking or brushing with mica powders.Even the kissing technique!But when I saw this challenge I knew exactly what I wanted to try.

I stamped the kimono part of this Banana Frog Kawaii Kokeshi in Versamark then heat embossed in clear powder.I then stamped her again in Memento onto some card cut with Labels 3 Nestabilities and coloured with Promarkers.I used a little pink Copic Atyou Spica on the flower in her hair and on her lips. Then I went over her hair with a Versamark pen and embossed using clear powder to give a glossy finish.I carefully cut out the pieces of kimono I wanted to use and stuck them in place.All papers are the free pad of My Minds Eye in Cardmaking and Papercraft magazine.The card is Core’dinations Gemstone,the mini buttons are from my stash and the ribbon was originally white but I dyed it with Promarker.I also used Nestabilities Large Classic Inverted Scallop Circles,a large coner rounder punch and an inverted corner punch.

Hopefully this will work with other solid style stamps and give the a new lease of life!!

TFL,

Craftybunny x

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claire
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 21:08:46

    A lovely card – she is gorgeous! Thanks for playing along at C.R.A.F.T. in our paper piecing challenge! Cheers Claire x

    Reply

  2. Suzi
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 00:43:41

    So Sweet, love that little image, love your paper piecing. Thank you for joining us at C.R.A.F.T. this week, good luck in the draw.
    Hugs Suzi xx

    Reply

  3. Rose
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 01:07:02

    Gorgeous card, love the colours, thanks for joining us at C.R.A.F.T and good luck!

    Rose x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

