New Baby

This card I made for my niece who has just had her first baby!Such an exciting time for everyone!

I then suddenly realised that makes me a Great Aunty.Hmmm… now that makes me feel old.

I used a sketch,created by newly recruited DT member Rosie, from the Let’s Get Stamping Sketchie Challenge at Craftbubble:

There was a twist too.Rosie rather cheekily set the theme of ‘Knickers In a Twist’! (cheekily … geddit)You could interpret this as anything to do with the fabrics,the patterns,trimmings,colours,saucy ones or even Bridget Jones style ones!

This is also an entry for By The Cute And Girly where the challenge is ‘New’.

I opted for nice,girly,frilly ones.And after all nappies are our first knickers aren’t they?So I chose this pretty K & Co paper and decided to take it from there.I didn’t have a baby stamp as this is not an occasion I usually make cards for.I didn’t want to go to the expense of something I wouldn’t use very often nor did I have the time to wait for it to turn up in the post so I managed to find this little cutie pie at the DigiStamp Boutique.I coloured her with Promarkers then punched the bottom with a Film Strip punch and threaded the ribbon through.I adhered two lengths of lace to the papers then created two ribbon ruffles by stitching along one edge of the ribbon and drew it along shaping them as I went (not bad for someone who can’t sew).The ribbon is from a birthday cake and the bow on the thinner piece was already tied.I placed some threaded pearly buttons in the centres.The sentiment was computer generated.The pink card is from my stash.

TFL’

Craftybunny x

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jane
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 09:13:11

    a really lovely pretty baby card, sweet image, pretty papers and i love your flowers. thanks for sharing with the cute and girly. janex

    Reply

  2. Beryl
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 14:37:51

    Gorgeous new baby card – I love your ribbon flowers – very clever.
    Thank you for joining us at By the Cute and Girly.
    Beryl xx

    Reply

  3. pinky
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 22:18:47

    Beautiful little baby card, love your image and the flowers are so pretty. Thanks for joining us at BTC&G
    Pinky

    Reply

  4. Brenda
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 18:22:51

    This really is very pretty and lovey attention to detail.

    Thanks for joing us at BTCG this month.

    B x

    Reply

  5. Katie
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 21:02:56

    Super cute card and I love the layout you chose!
    Thanks for playing at By The Cute and Girly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

