Three-in-one

newhome002

This card was made for the Willow Sketchie Challenge on the Let’s Get Stamping group at Craftbubble.

This is the sketch:

20pspCB17thOct

The twist was to use any type of embossing in your work.

I’ve seen foil embossing with rubber stamps and thought I’d like to give it a try.Have to confess I bought some foil sheets a while back and never got round to doing this.Now seeemed like the ideal time to put it into practice.

The stamp is a freebie from Craft Stamper magazine.I used it with Stazon ink on the reverse side of the foil.I then traced the outline with a fairly fine embossing stylus.The set of foil sheets came with an embossing mat which looked suspiciously like some purple funky foam to me!I turned the sheet over then working on the right side I used the very fine end to further emboss around the inside lines of the image.I also drew in a horizon line complete with tufts of grass.For some reason the way the light reflected off the metal and doesn’t show the line as clearly defined as it is IRL.I wanted to add a little colour so I dusted off some permanent markers that I haven’t used in a very long time.When I used the paler colours they actually took the top layer of gold off.I think this was due to the fact that the foil I used was just some cheap kids craft stuff I bought just to see how I got on with this technique.As it happens I was quite taken with the effect.

The other embossing is heat embossing on the greeting using some lovely deep red pearl powder from a set I bought some time ago.I used the Cuttlebug Distress Stripes embossing folder on some So Mod Core’dinations card and lightly sanded it.I inked around the edges using Rhubarb Stalk Memento ink.I did the same with a piece K & Co paper.I mounted these over some Burgandy jute ribbon.I attached the foil piece to some card from the DCWV Christmas Mat Stack with some brads and adhered it in place with foam pads.The sentiment was attached in the same way.I added some lovely buttons from Autumn Leaves Savannah Bag-O-Buttons.If your an enormous button fan like me you should really check these out – they’re simply gorgeous.

TFL

Craftybunny x

Leave a Reply

