Tooth Fairies are Frogs?!

Toothtin007

Well they could be.I remember DD1 when she was little watching a cartoon where they were mice – so why not!After all no one’s seen one,right?

The challenge at Passion for ProMarkers was to use Emerald and Marine….BUT you had to make anything but a card.

Usually these words would send me running from the room screaming.However it didn’t this time because on the very same morning the Fairy Friends set by Pink Cat Studio dropped through my letter box.Plus I remembered some Christmas tins I’d hoarded in the cupboard:

Tooth tin 001

Now,my youngest hasn’t lost any teeth yet so it seemed the perfect opportunity to make something nice to put them in when the time arose.

I waded through my stash to find all I needed to put this together.I chose some more lovely K & Co paper from the huge pad.

Toothtin003

This reminded me of water lily flowers and pads as well as the dotted jump lines that are sometimes added to cartoon frogs.I also stamped out some smiley teeth from the same stamp sheet,shaded with a litte Tulip Yellow,coated with Sakura Glaze pen and placed four around the sides of the tin.I had some fancy Anita’s Sticky Ribbon from a kit when I first started cardmaking so put that round the lid rim.I used some Papermania Textured card and that I felt was a pretty close match for the Marine pen to mount the image and the tag which was attached with a Papermania brad in a matching colour.Circles are cut with Nestabilities.Tag cut by hand.

Toothtin005

 Next I created a poem on the computer to decorate the inside of the lid and filled the gap with another tooth.’Scuse the words I made this up myself(as you can probably tell).

As well as the two specified colours I used I managed to sneak in some Tulip Yellow from the new colours(it had to be done) and some  Metallic Gold to edge the tag and topper.Becase the tin was silver I also changed any parts that showed to gold using a Pilot permanent marker.Inside there is also a shredded emerald green nest of tissue paper(didn’t want to bore you with a photo of that).

Here’s a final pic to get the over all effect:

Toothtin004

I haven’t told him yet but because of all the work involved I don’t want him to squash it under his pillow.When the time comes I’ll persuade him that it will be better seen by the side of his bed.

TFL

Craftybunny x.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natalie
    Sep 25, 2009 @ 21:40:13

    What a lovely idea. Thanks for joining us at PFP this week. x

    Reply

  2. Linda Elbourne
    Sep 25, 2009 @ 21:51:01

    What a fabulous idea and great art work!

    Reply

  3. Debbi
    Sep 25, 2009 @ 22:24:31

    what a fantastic idea – will have to do a couple of girly versions for my 2 youngest.
    thanks for joining us on PfP this week and good luck
    Debbi
    xx

    Reply

  4. caryn
    Sep 25, 2009 @ 22:54:26

    This is a great idea. Thanks for joining us at PFP.

    Hugs,
    Caryn xxxx

    Reply

  5. Michele
    Sep 26, 2009 @ 08:38:41

    Such a fabulous card, love the papers you’ve used. Thanks for joining us this week at PFP. Hugs Michele x

    Reply

  6. The Crafty Den
    Sep 26, 2009 @ 09:00:01

    What a cute little tin. The image is so adorable and the tooth is perfect. What a great gift for your son. Thanks for joining us at PFP this week. Hugs, Denise x

    Reply

  7. Sarah
    Sep 26, 2009 @ 18:45:55

    Like it, I love it, how adorable is this???? Fantastic idea, how lucky your children are, the tooth fairy is even more magical now.

    Thanks for playing along at PFP.

    Hugs

    Sarah

    Reply

  8. Ida
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 17:26:26

    Oh this looks so great!! 🙂 Love the idea of a frog ferry! 🙂 Thank you so much for joining us at PfP this week! 🙂

    Hugs Ida

    Reply

  9. helen x
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 21:01:03

    what a great idea whish i’d thought of that when my kids were having visits from the tooth fairy, thanks for joining us at pfp this week
    hugs
    helen x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

