Background Blues

backgroundsketchie002

At the Lets Get Stamping group at Craftbubble it was Guest Designer Laurens’ turn to set the challenge this week.

Here’s her sketch:

LaurenSketchieCB19thSept

The twist was to use part of the stamp in your main image to create a background.

Having looked through my many stamps I decided this lovely swirly Reindeer would be the most suited.

Because it’s such a delicate design I didn’t want to swamp it in too much colour so I just shaded it a little with the same Bahama Blue Memento ink pad it was stamped in using a Koi waterbrush.I also introduced the same colour around the edges to create a frame.Tiny nail gems are added to his antlers for the right amount of sparkle.

The background paper is from a HOTP Christmas pad I bought last year.I never got round to using this one as I felt it was too pale.I created some corner patterns with the antlers but extended the ones on the left.Using a craft knife I cut around the swirls and slid the image piece,mounted on foam pads, underneath leaving the cut pieces to stand out for more interest.

I placed an organza silver ribbon across the middle so as not to obscure the scrolls and to add more shimmer to the card.Finally a sentiment was added with some more antler swirls plus a couple of square gems.

To tell the truth this card isn’t as good as I envisioned it 😦    I don’t have time to make another but it has grown on me a little since photographing it ‘tho.

Craftybunny x.

Leave a Reply

