Christmas in June!

cards 006

I know to the outside world it may seem a tad early for Christmas cards but those within the crafting world know it’s never too early to start making cards.

After seeing this type of card made on Create and Craft shopping channel and in June issue of Craft Stamper magazine I thought I would have a go myself.I liked the idea of only using small quantities of these gorgeous Hot Off The Press Christmas papers.It’s actually from a pad I bought last year as I managed to come up with a design that only used a strip of the paper edged with scored lines using an Eazi-Score board.Which meant all the more for me!Fellow paper strokers will understand what I mean.Since when did I become obsessed with patterned paper?Since I first discovered it of course!

Sounds like I need to get back to the card… I like the simplicity of the design and the swirly reindeer stamp.Personally I make about 60 or so Christmas cards for family and friends so I try to keep it simple.Although it’s hard to tell from the picture the dots on the antlers are glittered.Both stamps are from e-Bay shop CraziBoutStamps.I also bought an Angel in the same style and another sentiment.I will mix it up a bit with different papers,colours and embellishments as well as the stamps.This style of card is intended for family and friends whose children have grown up.I have a different card using a Shaun the Sheep stamp (of Wallace and Gromit’s A Close Shave fame) lined up for those with young children. I was quite pleased with the result but trying to be a little too perfect I measured to find the exact center so I think next time I shall move the brad forward slightly to give a more even border. I shall still send this tho’ and just hope nobody notices!

TFL Craftybunny x.

Leave a Reply

